Call Today for Your Free Consultation
Call Us 415-735-3995

San Francisco Out-of-State Residents DUI Defense Lawyer

Bay Area Out-of-State Residents Attorney

Attorney for Bay Area Tourists Charged with Drunk Driving

If you are an out-of-state resident in San Francisco for a business convention or a vacation, a drunk driving arrest can be a traumatic experience. You have probably already spent some time at the county jail and maybe missed your flight home. You have also been notified that you will lose your California driving privileges in 30 days, and you are wondering what happens next.

A DUI conviction goes on your criminal record, and it can negatively impact your future in numerous ways. As an out-of-state resident, you should not go through this without the guidance of an attorney who has extensive experience practicing in the Bay Area and is familiar with the inner workings of the San Francisco County Superior Court. If you work with an inexperienced lawyer, the situation is likely to go from bad to worse.

How are DUI Arrests Handled for Out-of-State Residents?

Motorists from out of state who are charged with drunk driving in San Francisco County have two separate and simultaneous proceedings to deal with: a criminal charge before San Francisco County Superior Court, and an administrative proceeding before the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

In the criminal proceeding, your first appearance is usually your arraignment. At the arraignment, your case is reviewed, and you enter a plea of "not guilty," "guilty," or "no contest." You may also have the opportunity to plead guilty to a lesser charge or have the charges dropped altogether.

Unless you are charged with felony DUI, you are typically not required to appear personally for your arraignment and subsequent hearings. Legal counsel can usually appear on your behalf, saving you the time and expenses required to travel back to San Francisco. Your attorney can thoroughly review your case, negotiate with prosecutors, and perform all the other work required to deliver the most effective legal defense.

In addition to the criminal proceeding, a DUI charge in San Francisco County initiates a suspension of your California driving privileges through the DMV. The suspension goes into effect 30 days after your arrest, and your home state is notified as well. Depending on the laws of your state, this could result in your driver's license being suspended and other legal consequences.

It is important to note that you have only 10 days to request a DMV administrative hearing to challenge the suspension of your driving privileges in California. If you miss the 10-day window, there is usually no further opportunity to prevent the suspension from taking effect.

Speak with a Seasoned San Francisco Out-of-State Residents DUI Defense Attorney

For tourists and business travelers in the Bay Area, a DUI charge can be difficult to fight remotely. You need a local DUI lawyer you can trust to represent you and provide a strong defense. Attorney Paul Burglin has successfully represented out-of-state residents charged with drunk driving in the San Francisco area since 1985.

Attorney Burglin is one of only five lawyers in the state who is Board-Certified by the National College of DUI Defense, as approved by the American Bar Association. As a Regent for the National College, Paul Burglin has access to a wide network of reputable DUI attorneys across the country, and he can provide advice and counsel about the legal consequences of the drunk driving charge in your home state and what actions must be taken to mitigate the situation there as much as possible.

If you are an out-of-state resident who was charged with DUI in the Bay Area, contact attorney Paul Burglin today at 415-735-3995 for a confidential consultation. We serve clients throughout the San Francisco Bay Area and surrounding northern California communities.

VISIT OUR OTHER WEBSITES SAN RAFAEL NAPA SONOMA MARIN
Back to Top