Informational Guide For San Francisco
 

Home

Possible DUI Charges And Punishment

Legal Defenses

Obtaining The Best DUI Defense Attorney

Obtaining Police Report

Keeping Driver’s License

Blood Alcohol Estimate

California Drunk Driving Law



 
This Informational Guide is brought to you by the authors of California Drunk Driving Law, a two-volume treatise referred commonly to by lawyers as "the Bible of DUI Defense in California."
   

SAN FRANCISCO DUI LAW CENTER

An Informational Guide To Drunk Driving
Defense In San Francisco, California

California Drunk Driving Law


In most California drunk driving prosecutions, the offender is charged with two counts: (a) driving under the influence; and (b) driving with a .08 percent or higher blood or breath-alcohol level. Typically, the individual is also served by the arresting officer with a license suspension order from the DMV. Set forth below are the core statutes governing these matters, but you should consult with a DUI defense specialist for exceptions and challenges to these laws.


23152. (a) It is unlawful for any person who is under the influence
of any alcoholic beverage or drug, or under the combined influence
of any alcoholic beverage and drug, to drive a vehicle.
(b) It is unlawful for any person who has 0.08 percent or more, by
weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle.
For purposes of this article and Section 34501.16, percent, by
weight, of alcohol in a person's blood is based upon grams of alcohol
per 100 milliliters of blood or grams of alcohol per 210 liters of
breath.
In any prosecution under this subdivision, it is a rebuttable
presumption that the person had 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of
alcohol in his or her blood at the time of driving the vehicle if the
person had 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her
blood at the time of the performance of a chemical test within three
hours after the driving.
(c) It is unlawful for any person who is addicted to the use of
any drug to drive a vehicle. This subdivision shall not apply to a
person who is participating in a narcotic treatment program approved
pursuant to Article 3 (commencing with Section 11875) of Chapter 1 of
Part 3 of Division 10.5 of the Health and Safety Code.
(d) It is unlawful for any person who has 0.04 percent or more, by
weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a commercial motor
vehicle, as defined in Section 15210.
In any prosecution under this subdivision, it is a rebuttable
presumption that the person had 0.04 percent or more, by weight, of
alcohol in his or her blood at the time of driving the vehicle if the
person had 0.04 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her
blood at the time of the performance of a chemical test within three
hours after the driving.

23153. (a) It is unlawful for any person, while under the influence
of any alcoholic beverage or drug, or under the combined influence
of any alcoholic beverage and drug, to drive a vehicle and
concurrently do any act forbidden by law, or neglect any duty imposed
by law in driving the vehicle, which act or neglect proximately
causes bodily injury to any person other than the driver.
(b) It is unlawful for any person, while having 0.08 percent or
more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle
and concurrently do any act forbidden by law, or neglect any duty
imposed by law in driving the vehicle, which act or neglect
proximately causes bodily injury to any person other than the driver.

In any prosecution under this subdivision, it is a rebuttable
presumption that the person had 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of
alcohol in his or her blood at the time of driving the vehicle if the
person had 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her
blood at the time of the performance of a chemical test within three
hours after driving.
(c) In proving the person neglected any duty imposed by law in
driving the vehicle, it is not necessary to prove that any specific
section of this code was violated.
(d) It is unlawful for any person, while having 0.04 percent or
more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a commercial
motor vehicle, as defined in Section 15210, and concurrently to do
any act forbidden by law or neglect any duty imposed by law in
driving the vehicle, which act or neglect proximately causes bodily
injury to any person other than the driver.
In any prosecution under this subdivision, it is a rebuttable
presumption that the person had 0.04 percent or more, by weight, of
alcohol in his or her blood at the time of driving the vehicle if the
person had 0.04 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her
blood at the time of performance of a chemical test within three
hours after driving.

13352. (a) The department shall immediately suspend or revoke the
privilege of a person to operate a motor vehicle upon the receipt of
an abstract of the record of a court showing that the person has been
convicted of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153 or subdivision
(a) of Section 23109, or upon the receipt of a report of a judge of
the juvenile court, a juvenile traffic hearing officer, or a referee
of a juvenile court showing that the person has been found to have
committed a violation of Section 23152 or 23153 or subdivision (a) of
Section 23109. If an offense specified in this section occurs in a
vehicle defined in Section 15210, the suspension or revocation
specified below shall apply to the noncommercial driving privilege.
The commercial driving privilege shall be disqualified as specified
in Sections 15300 to 15302, inclusive. For the purposes of this
section, suspension or revocation shall be as follows:
(1) Except as required under Section 13352.1 or Section 13352.4,
upon a conviction or finding of a violation of Section 23152
punishable under Section 23536, the privilege shall be suspended for
a period of six months.
The privilege may not be reinstated until the person gives proof
of financial responsibility and gives proof satisfactory to the
department of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence
program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety
Code described in subdivision (b) of Section 23538. If the court, as
authorized under paragraph (3) of subdivision (b) of Section 23646,
elects to order a person to enroll, participate and complete either
program described in paragraph (4) of subdivision (b) of Section
23542, the department shall require that program in lieu of the
program described in subdivision (b) of Section 23538. For the
purposes of this paragraph, enrollment, participation, and completion
of an approved program shall be subsequent to the date of the
current violation. Credit may not be given to any program activities
completed prior to the date of the current violation.
(2) Upon a conviction or finding of a violation of Section 23153
punishable under Section 23554, the privilege shall be suspended for
a period of one year. The privilege may not be reinstated until the
person gives proof of financial responsibility and gives proof
satisfactory to the department of successful completion of a
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code as described in subdivision (b)
of Section 23556. If the court, as authorized under paragraph (3) of
subdivision (b) of Section 23646, elects to order a person to enroll,
participate, and complete either program described in paragraph (4)
of subdivision (b) of Section 23542, the department shall require
that program in lieu of the program described in Section 23556. For
the purposes of this paragraph, enrollment, participation, and
completion of an approved program shall be subsequent to the date of
the current violation. Credit may not be given to any program
activities completed prior to the date of the current violation.
(3) Except as provided in Section 13352.5, upon a conviction or
finding of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section
23540, the privilege shall be suspended for two years. The privilege
may not be reinstated until the person gives proof of financial
responsibility and gives proof satisfactory to the department of
successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program
licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code as
described in subdivision (b) of Section 23542. For the purposes of
this paragraph, enrollment, participation, and completion of an
approved program shall be subsequent to the date of the current
violation. Credit shall not be given to any program activities
completed prior to the date of the current violation. The department
shall advise the person that after completion of 12 months of the
suspension period, which may include credit for a suspension period
served under subdivision (c) of Section 13353.3, the person may apply
to the department for a restricted driver's license, subject to the
following conditions:
(A) The person has satisfactorily provided, subsequent to the
violation date of the current underlying conviction, either of the
following:
(i) Proof of enrollment in an 18-month driving-under-the-influence
program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety
Code.
(ii) Proof of enrollment in a 30-month driving-under-the-influence
program licensed pursuant to Section 11836 of the Health and Safety
Code, if available in the county of the person's residence or
employment.
(B) The person agrees, as a condition of the restriction, to
continue satisfactory participation in the program described in
subparagraph (A).
(C) The person submits the "Verification of Installation" form
described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of Section 13386.
(D) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as
required under subdivision (g) of Section 23575.
(E) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as
defined in Section 16430.
(F) The person pays all administrative fees or reissue fees and
any restriction fee required by the department.
(G) The restriction shall remain in effect for the period required
in subdivision (f) of Section 23575.
(4) Except as provided in this paragraph, upon a conviction or
finding of a violation of Section 23153 punishable under Section
23560, the privilege shall be revoked for a period of three years.
The privilege may not be reinstated until the person gives proof of
financial responsibility, and the person gives proof satisfactory to
the department of successful completion of a
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code, as described in subdivision (b)
of Section 23562. For the purposes of this paragraph, enrollment,
participation, and completion of an approved program shall be
subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit shall not be
given to any program activities completed prior to the date of the
current violation. The department shall advise the person that after
the completion of 12 months of the revocation period, which may
include credit for a suspension period served under subdivision (c)
of Section 13353.3, the person may apply to the department for a
restricted driver's license, subject to the following conditions:
(A) The person has satisfactorily completed, subsequent to the
violation date of the current underlying conviction, either of the
following:
(i) The initial 12 months of an 18-month
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code.
(ii) The initial 12 months of a 30-month
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if available in the county of
the person's residence or employment, and the person agrees, as a
condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation
in that 30-month program.
(B) The person submits the "Verification of Installation" form
described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of Section 13386.
(C) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as
required under subdivision (g) of Section 23575.
(D) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as
defined in Section 16430.
(E) The person pays all applicable reinstatement or reissue fees
and any restriction fee required by the department.
(F) The restriction shall remain in effect for the period required
in subdivision (f) of Section 23575.
(5) Except as provided in this paragraph, upon a conviction or
finding of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section
23546, the privilege shall be revoked for a period of three years.
The privilege may not be reinstated until the person files proof of
financial responsibility and gives proof satisfactory to the
department of successful completion of one of the following programs:
an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to
Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, as described in
subdivision (b) or (c) of Section 23548, or, if available in the
county of the person's residence or employment, a 30-month
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or a program specified in
Section 8001 of the Penal Code. For the purposes of this paragraph,
enrollment, participation, and completion of an approved program
shall be subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit
shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the
date of the current violation. The department shall advise the person
that after completion of 12 months of the revocation period, which
may include credit for a suspension period served under subdivision
(c) of Section 13353.3, the person may apply to the department for a
restricted driver's license, subject to the following conditions:
(A) The person has satisfactorily completed, subsequent to the
violation date of the current underlying conviction, either of the
following:
(i) The initial 12 months of an 18-month
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code.
(ii) The initial 12 months of a 30-month
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if available in the county of
the person's residence or employment, and the person agrees, as a
condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation
in the 30-month driving-under-the-influence program.
(B) The person submits the "Verification of Installation" form
described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of Section 13386.
(C) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as
required under subdivision (g) of Section 23575.
(D) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as
defined in Section 16430.
(E) An individual convicted of a violation of Section 23152
punishable under Section 23546 may also, at any time after
sentencing, petition the court for referral to an 18-month
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or, if available in the county
of the person's residence or employment, a 30-month
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code. Unless good cause is shown, the
court shall order the referral.
(F) The person pays all applicable reinstatement or reissue fees
and any restriction fee required by the department.
(G) The restriction shall remain in effect for the period required
in subdivision (f) of Section 23575.
(6) Except as provided in this paragraph, upon a conviction or
finding of a violation of Section 23153 punishable under Section
23550.5 or 23566, the privilege shall be revoked for a period of five
years. The privilege may not be reinstated until the person gives
proof of financial responsibility and proof satisfactory to the
department of successful completion of one of the following programs:
an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to
Section 11836 of the Health and Safety Code, as described in
subdivision (b) of Section 23568 or, if available in the county of
the person's residence or employment, a 30-month
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or a program specified in
Section 8001 of the Penal Code. For the purposes of this paragraph,
enrollment, participation, and completion of an approved program
shall be subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit
shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the
date of the current violation. The department shall advise the person
that after the completion of 12 months of the revocation period,
which may include credit for a suspension period served under
subdivision (c) of Section 13353.3, the person may apply to the
department for a restricted driver's license, subject to the
following conditions:
(A) The person has satisfactorily completed, subsequent to the
violation date of the current underlying conviction, either of the
following:
(i) The initial 12 months of a 30-month
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if available in the county of
the person's residence or employment, and the person agrees, as a
condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation
in the 30-month driving-under-the-influence program.
(ii) The initial 12 months of an 18-month
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if a 30-month program is
unavailable in the person's county of residence or employment.
(B) The person submits the "Verification of Installation" form
described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of Section 13386.
(C) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as
required under subdivision (g) of Section 23575.
(D) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as
defined in Section 16430.
(E) An individual convicted of a violation of Section 23153
punishable under Section 23566 may also, at any time after
sentencing, petition the court for referral to an 18-month
driving-under-the-influence program or, if available in the county of
the person's residence or employment, a 30-month
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code. Unless good cause is shown, the
court shall order the referral.
(F) The person pays all applicable reinstatement or reissue fees
and any restriction fee required by the department.
(G) The restriction shall remain in effect for the period required
in subdivision (f) of Section 23575.
(7) Except as provided in this paragraph, upon a conviction or
finding of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under Section
23550 or 23550.5, or Section 23153 punishable under Section 23550.5
the privilege shall be revoked for a period of four years. The
privilege may not be reinstated until the person gives proof of
financial responsibility and proof satisfactory to the department of
successful completion of one of the following programs: an 18-month
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or, if available in the county
of the person's residence or employment, a 30-month
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code, or a program specified in
Section 8001 of the Penal Code. For the purposes of this paragraph,
enrollment, participation, and completion of an approved program
shall be subsequent to the date of the current violation. Credit
shall not be given to any program activities completed prior to the
date of the current violation. The department shall advise the person
that after the completion of 12 months of the revocation period,
which may include credit for a suspension period served under
subdivision (c) of Section 13353.3, the person may apply to the
department for a restricted driver's license, subject to the
following conditions:
(A) The person has satisfactorily completed, subsequent to the
violation date of the current underlying conviction, either of the
following:
(i) The initial 12 months of an 18-month
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code.
(ii) The initial 12 months of a 30-month
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code, if available in the county of
the person's residence or employment, and the person agrees, as a
condition of the restriction, to continue satisfactory participation
in the 30-month driving-under-the-influence program.
(B) The person submits the "Verification of Installation" form
described in paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of Section 13386.
(C) The person agrees to maintain the ignition interlock device as
required under subdivision (g) of Section 23575.
(D) The person provides proof of financial responsibility, as
defined in Section 16430.
(E) An individual convicted of a violation of Section 23152
punishable under Section 23550 may also, at any time after
sentencing, petition the court for referral to an 18-month
driving-under-the-influence program or, if available in the county of
the person's residence or employment, a 30-month
driving-under-the-influence program licensed pursuant to Section
11836 of the Health and Safety Code. Unless good cause is shown, the
court shall order the referral.
(F) The person pays all applicable reinstatement or reissue fees
and any restriction fee required by the department.
(G) The restriction shall remain in effect for the period required
in subdivision (f) of Section 23575.
(8) Upon a conviction or finding of a violation of subdivision (a)
of Section 23109 that is punishable under subdivision (e) of that
section, the privilege shall be suspended for a period of 90 days to
six months, if ordered by the court. The privilege may not be
reinstated until the person gives proof of financial responsibility,
as defined in Section 16430.
(9) Upon a conviction or finding of a violation of subdivision (a)
of Section 23109 that is punishable under subdivision (f) of that
section, the privilege shall be suspended for a period of six months,
if ordered by the court. The privilege may not be reinstated until
the person gives proof of financial responsibility, as defined in
Section 16430.
(b) For the purpose of paragraphs (2) to (9), inclusive, of
subdivision (a), the finding of the juvenile court judge, the
juvenile hearing officer, or the referee of a juvenile court of a
commission of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153 or subdivision
(a) of Section 23109, as specified in subdivision (a) of this
section, is a conviction.
(c) A judge of a juvenile court, juvenile hearing officer, or
referee of a juvenile court shall immediately report the findings
specified in subdivision (a) to the department.
(d) A conviction of an offense in a state, territory, or
possession of the United States, the District of Columbia, the
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or Canada that, if committed in this
state, would be a violation of Section 23152, is a conviction of
Section 23152 for the purposes of this section, and a conviction of
an offense that, if committed in this state, would be a violation of
Section 23153, is a conviction of Section 23153 for the purposes of
this section. The department shall suspend or revoke the privilege to
operate a motor vehicle pursuant to this section upon receiving
notice of that conviction.
(e) For the purposes of the restriction conditions specified in
paragraphs (3) to (7), inclusive, of subdivision (a), the department
shall terminate the restriction imposed pursuant to this section and
shall suspend or revoke the person's driving privilege upon receipt
of notification from the driving-under-the-influence program that the
person has failed to comply with the program requirements. The
person's driving privilege shall remain suspended or revoked for the
remaining period of the original suspension or revocation imposed
under this section and until all reinstatement requirements described
in this section are met.
(f) For the purposes of this section, completion of a program is
the following:
(1) Satisfactory completion of all program requirements approved
pursuant to program licensure, as evidenced by a certificate of
completion issued, under penalty of perjury, by the licensed program.

(2) Certification, under penalty of perjury, by the director of a
program specified in Section 8001 of the Penal Code, that the person
has completed a program specified in Section 8001 of the Penal Code.

(g) The holder of a commercial driver's license who was operating
a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in Section 15210, at the time
of a violation that resulted in a suspension or revocation of the
person's noncommercial driving privilege under this section is not
eligible for the restricted driver's license authorized under
paragraphs (3) to (7), inclusive, of subdivision (a).

13353. (a) If a person refuses the officer's request to submit to,
or fails to complete, a chemical test or tests pursuant to Section
23612, upon receipt of the officer's sworn statement that the officer
had reasonable cause to believe the person had been driving a motor
vehicle in violation of Section 23140, 23152, or 23153, and that the
person had refused to submit to, or did not complete, the test or
tests after being requested by the officer, the department shall do
one of the following:
(1) Suspend the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle for
a period of one year.
(2) Revoke the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle for a
period of two years if the refusal occurred within 10 years of
either (A) a separate violation of Section 23103 as specified in
Section 23103.5, or of Section 23140, 23152, or 23153, or of Section
191.5 or paragraph (3) of subdivision (c) of Section 192 of the Penal
Code, that resulted in a conviction, or (B) a suspension or
revocation of the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle
pursuant to this section or Section 13353.2 for an offense that
occurred on a separate occasion.
(3) Revoke the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle for a
period of three years if the refusal occurred within 10 years of any
of the following:
(A) Two or more separate violations of Section 23103 as specified
in Section 23103.5, or of Section 23140, 23152, or 23153, or of
Section 191.5 or paragraph (3) of subdivision (c) of Section 192 of
the Penal Code, or any combination thereof, that resulted in
convictions.
(B) Two or more suspensions or revocations of the person's
privilege to operate a motor vehicle pursuant to this section or
Section 13353.2 for offenses that occurred on separate occasions.
(C) Any combination of two or more of those convictions or
administrative suspensions or revocations.
The officer's sworn statement shall be submitted pursuant to
Section 13380 on a form furnished or approved by the department. The
suspension or revocation shall not become effective until 30 days
after the giving of written notice thereof, or until the end of any
stay of the suspension or revocation, as provided for in Section
13558.
(D) For the purposes of this section, a conviction of any offense
in any state, territory, or possession of the United States, the
District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or the
Dominion of Canada that, if committed in this state, would be a
violation of Section 23103, as specified in Section 23103.5, or
Section 23140, 23152, or 23153, or Section 191.5 or paragraph (3) of
subdivision (c) of Section 192 of the Penal Code, is a conviction of
that particular section of the Vehicle Code or Penal Code.
(b) If a person on more than one occasion in separate incidents
refuses the officer's request to submit to, or fails to complete, a
chemical test or tests pursuant to Section 23612 while driving a
motor vehicle, upon the receipt of the officer's sworn statement that
the officer had reasonable cause to believe the person had been
driving a motor vehicle in violation of Section 23140, 23152, or
23153, the department shall disqualify the person from operating a
commercial motor vehicle for the rest of his or her lifetime.
(c) The notice of the order of suspension or revocation under this
section shall be served on the person by a peace officer pursuant to
Section 23612. The notice of the order of suspension or revocation
shall be on a form provided by the department. If the notice of the
order of suspension or revocation has not been served by the peace
officer pursuant to Section 23612, the department immediately shall
notify the person in writing of the action taken. The peace officer
who serves the notice, or the department, if applicable, also shall
provide, if the officer or department, as the case may be, determines
that it is necessary to do so, the person with the appropriate
non-English notice developed pursuant to subdivision (d) of Section
14100.
(d) Upon the receipt of the officer's sworn statement, the
department shall review the record. For purposes of this section, the
scope of the administrative review shall cover all of the following
issues:
(1) Whether the peace officer had reasonable cause to believe the
person had been driving a motor vehicle in violation of Section
23140, 23152, or 23153.
(2) Whether the person was placed under arrest.
(3) Whether the person refused to submit to, or did not complete,
the test or tests after being requested by a peace officer.
(4) Whether, except for a person described in subdivision (a) of
Section 23612 who is incapable of refusing, the person had been told
that his or her driving privilege would be suspended or revoked if he
or she refused to submit to, or did not complete, the test or tests.

(e) The person may request an administrative hearing pursuant to
Section 13558. Except as provided in subdivision (e) of Section
13558, the request for an administrative hearing does not stay the
order of suspension or revocation.
(f) The suspension or revocation imposed under this section shall
run concurrently with any restriction, suspension, or revocation
imposed under Section 13352, 13352.4, or 13352.5 that resulted from
the same arrest.
(g) This section shall become operative on September 20, 2005.
13353.2. (a) The department shall immediately suspend the privilege
of a person to operate a motor vehicle for any one of the following
reasons:
(1) The person was driving a motor vehicle when the person had
0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood.
(2) The person was under 21 years of age and had a blood-alcohol
concentration of 0.01 percent or greater, as measured by a
preliminary alcohol screening test, or other chemical test.
(3) The person was driving a vehicle that requires a commercial
driver's license when the person had a 0.04 percent or more, by
weight, of alcohol in his or her blood.
(b) The notice of the order of suspension under this section shall
be served on the person by a peace officer pursuant to Section 13388
or 13382. The notice of the order of suspension shall be on a form
provided by the department. If the notice of the order of suspension
has not been served upon the person by the peace officer pursuant to
Section 13388 or 13382, upon the receipt of the report of a peace
officer submitted pursuant to Section 13380, the department shall
mail written notice of the order of the suspension to the person at
the last known address shown on the department's records and, if the
address of the person provided by the peace officer's report differs
from the address of record, to that address.
(c) The notice of the order of suspension shall clearly specify
the reason and statutory grounds for the suspension, the effective
date of the suspension, the right of the person to request an
administrative hearing, the procedure for requesting an
administrative hearing, and the date by which a request for an
administrative hearing shall be made in order to receive a
determination prior to the effective date of the suspension.
(d) The department shall make a determination of the facts in
subdivision (a) on the basis of the report of a peace officer
submitted pursuant to Section 13380. The determination of the facts,
after administrative review pursuant to Section 13557, by the
department is final, unless an administrative hearing is held
pursuant to Section 13558 and any judicial review of the
administrative determination after the hearing pursuant to Section
13559 is final.
(e) The determination of the facts in subdivision (a) is a civil
matter that is independent of the determination of the person's guilt
or innocence, shall have no collateral estoppel effect on a
subsequent criminal prosecution, and shall not preclude the
litigation of the same or similar facts in the criminal proceeding.
If a person is acquitted of criminal charges relating to a
determination of facts under subdivision (a), or if the person's
driver's license was suspended pursuant to Section 13388 and the
department finds no basis for a suspension pursuant to that section,
the department shall immediately reinstate the person's privilege to
operate a motor vehicle if the department has suspended it
administratively pursuant to subdivision (a), and the department
shall return or reissue for the remaining term any driver's license
that has been taken from the person pursuant to Section 13382 or
otherwise. Notwithstanding subdivision (b) of Section 13558, if
criminal charges under Section 23140, 23152, or 23153 are not filed
by the district attorney because of a lack of evidence, or if those
charges are filed but are subsequently dismissed by the court because
of an insufficiency of evidence, the person has a renewed right to
request an administrative hearing before the department. The request
for a hearing shall be made within one year from the date of arrest.

(f) The department shall furnish a form that requires a detailed
explanation specifying which evidence was defective or lacking and
detailing why that evidence was defective or lacking. The form shall
be made available to the person to provide to the district attorney.
The department shall hold an administrative hearing, and the hearing
officer shall consider the reasons for the failure to prosecute given
by the district attorney on the form provided by the department. If
applicable, the hearing officer shall consider the reasons stated on
the record by a judge who dismisses the charges. No fee shall be
imposed pursuant to Section 14905 for the return or reissuing of a
driver's license pursuant to this subdivision. The disposition of a
suspension action under this section does not affect any action to
suspend or revoke the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle
under any other provision of this code, including, but not limited
to, Section 13352 or 13353, or Chapter 3 (commencing with Section
13800).

Bay Area DUI Information Sites
Marin County DUI Guide Sonoma County DUI Guide
Napa County DUI Guide  
 
© Copyright 2007
Powered by MarinMarket.com!